Having a hard time choosing! Tons of questions!

Go down

Having a hard time choosing! Tons of questions!

Post  khennager1019 on Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:38 am

Hey everyone! I'm new to the whole forum (which is FANTASTIC, btw) and I was wondering if I could get a big of help!

I'm looking to purchase a dSLR - I want one that can be put on autofocus, but also that I can take off AF and figure out how to learn on my own.

I've been looking at getting either the Canon Rebel xti, or a Nikon - either D40 or D80. Now, I've had two Canon point and shoots and I've loved them! So, that has me leaning towards another Canon. What can I say? I'm a loyal customer.

But, here's my predicament - I am going to the American Idol tour in July. Embarassed I'm going to be in the 3rd section on the floor, row 30. I'm looking for a camera that I can get pretty decent shots with. What kind of lens should I get to get that kind of effect? Do I have to get one that works with Autofocus? This is what I've been looking at on Ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/CANON-EOS-Digital-Rebel-XTi-XT-i-400D-Camera-3-LENS-NEW_W0QQitemZ140238324821QQihZ004QQcategoryZ147173QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Is buying from a seller like this a good thing? Or am I asking for trouble?

Any information you can give would be very, very appreciated!

Kim

khennager1019

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Having a hard time choosing! Tons of questions!

Post  mawson on Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:48 am

Kim,
Congrats on making the dslr decision. I think either the Nikon or the Canon rebel would suit your needs. I bet they both can be manually focused and used in manual settings or auto. (I am a canon gal so I don't know much about Nikons except they are excellent too)